Art Auction - Mauri of the Maunga Gala Dinner & Auction Event

We are delighted to announce Kate Darrow, curator of the Art Auction pieces for our Mauri of the Maunga Gala Dinner & Auction event.

Kākāpō Art Auction 2024 

Curator Kate Darrow has extensive experience in the visual arts in Aotearoa, working with a wide network of artists and galleries. She has previously worked in the Public Gallery sector including the Auckland Art Gallery Toi o Tamaki and City Gallery, Wellington. Kate was the founding curator for MESH Sculpture Hamilton and has worked on projects for several Secondary Schools in the Waikato, commissioning artworks and acting in an advisory role. She has a BA in Art History from the University of Canterbury, an MA in Art Education from the City University, London, and a Diploma in Business from the University of Auckland. 

Currently working as Curator and Collection Manager for Waikato Hospital, where she is developing an art collection and education programme designed to enhance the well-being of patients, staff, whanau and visitors. Kate also works as an independent art consultant. 

Kate is a great champion of the kākāpō project and Maungatautari, and for the 2024 Mauri of the Maunga Gala Dinner event she has brought together a group of distinguished artists from across Aotearoa who support this great manu and the mahi to protect them. 


Curatorial Statement 

The group of artists who have contributed work for this auction are drawn together because of their immense talent, their standing in the art world and the collectability of their work. However, most importantly because of the kaupapa of their art practice. Each speaking in unique ways to our environment, our forests and birds and the great need for protection and understanding. The art works brought together celebrate the splendour of the natural world yet caution the need for its protection and understanding the threats that loom over it. 

We are honoured in 2024 to present the works of the following artists who support the tremendous mahi required to protect the kākāpō, our rare and precious taonga. 

Gretchen Albrecht, Elliot Collins, Shane Cotton (Ngā Puhi, Ngāti Rangi, Ngāti Hine and Te Uri Taniwha) Mike Crawford, Crystal Chain Gang, Brett Graham (Ngāti Koroki Kahukura, Tainui) Jaime Jenkins, Maioha Kara (Ngati Korokii Kahukura, Ngati Tipa, Te Ātihaunui-A-Papārangi, Tūhourangi, Te Whānau a Hinetapora, Kuki Airani), James Ormsby (Ngāti Maniapoto, Waikato, Te Arawa and Katimana), Dr. Fiona Pardington (Kai Tahu, Kati Mamoe, Ngati Kahungunu), Elizabeth Thomson, John Walsh (Te Aitanga a Hauiti), Layla Walters 

Crystal Chain Gang

Layla Walters

Posted by Tali Jellyman on April 11, 2024